Operation Catchpole Junior

'Catchpole Junior' was the US seizure of many of the lesser atolls of the Marshall islands group after 'Catchpole' (7 March/5 April 1944).

The task was entrusted to Colonel John T. Walker’s 22nd Marines, one of the two primary units involved in 'Catchpole', from its new base on Kwajalein island. The regiment took the mostly unoccupied atolls of Wotho, Ujae, Lae, Namu, Ailinglapalap, Namorik, Ebon, Bikini, Rongelap, Utirik, Airluk and Likiep, as well as the islets of Kili and Mejit.